iPXE - Open Source Boot Firmware

[build] Prevent use of MMX and SSE registers
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Tue, 20 Mar 2018 19:34:46 +0000 (21:34 +0200)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Tue, 20 Mar 2018 20:01:08 +0000 (22:01 +0200)
commit1df3b53051e2baa99abd00b2fe71ccfa6672331e
treef50818b2954e0a697729ef2b830090a1fb7c3ae8
parent0d35411f88dd37dda755d52b4549337f8299c698
[build] Prevent use of MMX and SSE registers

The existence of MMX and SSE is required by the System V x86_64 ABI
and so is assumed by gcc, but these registers are not preserved by our
own interrupt handlers and are unlikely to be preserved by other
context switch handlers in a boot firmware environment.

Explicitly prevent gcc from using MMX or SSE registers to avoid
potential problems due to silent register corruption.

We must remove the %xmm0-%xmm5 clobbers from the x86_64 version of
hv_call() since otherwise gcc will complain about unknown register
names.  Theoretically, we should probably add code to explicitly
preserve the %xmm0-%xmm5 registers across a hypercall, in order to
guarantee to external code that these registers remain unchanged.  In
practice this is difficult since SSE registers are disabled by
default: for background information see commits 71560d1 ("[librm]
Preserve FPU, MMX and SSE state across calls to virt_call()") and
dd9a14d ("[librm] Conditionalize the workaround for the Tivoli VMM's
SSE garbling").

Signed-off-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
src/arch/x86_64/Makefile
src/arch/x86_64/include/bits/hyperv.h