iPXE - Open Source Boot Firmware

[ethernet] Use standard 1500 byte MTU unless explicitly overridden
authorMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Tue, 17 Jul 2018 11:01:30 +0000 (12:01 +0100)
committerMichael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
Tue, 17 Jul 2018 11:14:43 +0000 (12:14 +0100)
commitb9d68b9de02cc474c8a713f1232ce69fefafe18e
treebb78cdd2596ec08a7d926315519e2c30b3e2b892
parent05b979146ddb0b957354663a99c181357ad310b2
[ethernet] Use standard 1500 byte MTU unless explicitly overridden

Devices that support jumbo frames will currently default to the
largest possible MTU.  This assumption is valid for virtual adapters
such as virtio-net, where the MTU must have been configured by a
system administrator, but is unsafe in the general case of a physical
adapter.

Default to the standard Ethernet MTU, unless explicitly overridden
either by the driver or via the ${netX/mtu} setting.

Signed-off-by: Michael Brown <mcb30@ipxe.org>
src/drivers/net/ena.c
src/drivers/net/virtio-net.c
src/net/ethernet.c